So long, Christchurch Kids!

It’s still November in Monterey, though you’ve moved on to December. Thank you for your lively responses to my posts. I’ve had a great month. Having a Skype visit with a group of you was a real highlight for me. I look forward to reading some of the books you recommended, and I wish you many good reads to to come.

We talked a bit about poetry during our Skype so I’ll send you off with one more poem. I like to memorize poems to recite to myself when I’m taking a walk or going to sleep. Here is one of my favorites. I hope you make poetry part of your life, too. Goodbye for now!

Daffodils by William Wordsworth

I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

The waves beside them danced; but they
Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:
A poet could not but be gay,
In such a jocund company:
I gazed–and gazed–but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Ella said,

    Goodbye Anne, I really enjoyed reading your posts, I learnt a lot!
    Good luck with your writing!
    I really liked the poem, I can really imagine wandering through the daffodils! :)

    Love,
    Ella :D

  2. 3

    Tierney said,

    Bye Anne, thank you so much for being our Star Author. It was so much fun! I loved the Skype interview, I learned heaps. Thanks again!

  3. 5

    Aisling said,

    Thanks, Anne for all the writing tips (and the pumpkin pie recipe! I’m so going to try it!!!) I can’t wait to read some more of your books :)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,057 other followers

