What are your favourite series books?

Have just picked up my library copy of David Almond’s new book “My name is Mina.” This is a “prequel” to his fabulous novel “Skellig“. Can’t wait to read it.

It’s fun to meet up again with fictional characters when they reappear. I guess that’s why sequels and series books (and prequels) are so appealing. Someone once suggested I write a sequel to “Old Bones” which is not something I’d thought of doing. I certainly haven’t got round to it but did wonder about letting a couple of the characters from that story make a ‘guest appearance’ in another book I’ve been thinking about.

I do have a couple of favourite characters from stories I’ve written. Patrick and Pete are brothers who have ‘starred’ in a few School Journal stories. They’ve also turned up in my ‘Kiwi bite’ book “Going Bananas” under different names, as well as in a couple of other short books (with different names yet again!).

What are your favourite series books?

2 Responses so far

  1. 1

    zackids said,

    I’ve just got my copy of My Name is Mina too. Skellig is one of my favourite novels and I saw a BBC adaption of the book a while ago which was very good.

    There are lots of series that I follow and sometimes it can be quite difficult to remember what happened in the previous books. My favourites are:

    The Spook’s Apprentice series by Joseph Delaney
    Skulduggery Pleasant series by Derek Landy
    Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness
    The Billionaire Trilogy by Richard Newsome

  2. 2

    starauthor said,

    Don’t you just love Mina’s description of words:

    “Words should wander and meander. they should fly like owls and flicker like bats and slip like cats. They should murmur and scream and dance and sing. Sometimes there should be no words at all. Just silence. Just clean white space.”

    Brilliant advice for writers!


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

