The Wind Singer by William Nicholson

Kestrel Hath can’t stand the structure and rules of her home town Aramanth. In defiance, she climbs the wooden tower known as the wind singer that hasn’t sung for years, and brings the wrath of the chief examiner against her family.

One day, her beloved farther is taken away, and only Kestrel and her emotion reading brother Bowman can save him, the town, and themselves….

It is a terrify quest, travelling along The Great Way and into the fire….  Kestrel, Bowman and dirty stinky Mumpo can retrieve the voice of the wind singer, in the sign of the legendary Singer people of Serine to release Aramanth from the grip of evil.

I’ve read all of the books in this series and I’ve loved them all but personally I think the end of the last one was a bit disappointing , but the book is really good and I think you should read it!

The first book is called The Wind Singer the second is called The Slaves Of The Mastery and the last one is called Firesong.

The best way I think of finding the book is to look for a big curly S shape at the top of the cover to know if it’s the book.

I think this book is suitable for 11+ and I would give the first two books a 10 out of 10 and the last book a 9 out of 10.

The wind singer must be found for the sake of all the people of  Aramanth……

By Kezia Knight

Age: 11

2 Responses so far

  1. 1

    zackids said,

    I loved this series too Kezia! It started off really well and I loved the 2nd book, but I agree that the ending of Firesong was a bit of a let down. It kind of seemed like he wasn’t really sure how he was going to end it so made up something strange. Definitely a good series if you love fantasy.

  2. 2

    christchurcheastbloggers said,

    i thought the ending was bad because they just forget about kestrel and i think bowman deserves better!


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

