Christmas traditions — an icicle garden!

Snow angels, eggnog, wool sweaters and Christmas all go hand in hand for me. I’m from the U.S. and I’m used to Christmas in winter! Living in New Zealand and celebrating Christmas in summer has been quite a surprise. Since moving here, I’ve bought a Christmas tree and gone surfing in the same day!

I’ve lived in many states across America. In most, a blanket of snow usually arrived by Christmas Eve! When we lived in Iowa, it was sooo cold all winter that huge icicles would grow from our house. We used to collect them and plant an “icicle garden” in a heap of snow. We then poured food coloring and water over the icicles and viola! A beautiful icicle garden! After that, we would go inside to warm up with some steamy Yogi Tea–one of my family’s Christmas traditions! Yogi Tea is spicy and brewed with ginger, peppercorns, cinnamon and cardamon. Yum!

After a big vegetarian Christmas Eve dinner we would all open one present, saving the rest for Christmas morning. When my younger brothers and sisters were little, one of their traditions was to wake up as early as 2am on Christmas morning to discover what Santa had left in their stockings and beneath the Christmas tree. Every year, Santa left mandarin oranges in everyone’s stockings and at least one present under the tree.

My family has more traditions than can fit in this post! But since moving to New Zealand I’ve kept some and been able to make new ones. One of my favorite new traditions is to sing Handel’s Messiah with a choir here in Christchurch. When I sing the words, “For unto us a child is born,” I know Christmas is right around the corner!

For me, Christmas in New Zealand is a blend of old and new traditions. What are some of your family’s traditions?

Check out the library’s cool Christmas page!

2 Responses so far

  1. 1

    zackids said,

    I’ve always wanted to experience a white Christmas. Your traditions sound fantastic Brindi, especially the Yogi Tea (YUM!). Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. 2

    christchurcheastbloggers said,

    awesome


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

