A Christmas in Scotland – no Berries and Too Many Brussel Sprouts

I was born in Auckland but my family are all Scots.  In my early 20s I lived in the UK.  Christmas in the cold isn’t a lot of fun.  Doing your shopping in the freezing cold or rain or often both.

I spent Christmas day at my aunts, her children were a lot younger than me so I had lots of fun in the morning helping them unwrap their prezzies.  Then it all gets completely different from an NZ Christmas.  There was no getting out on your new bike, it was pouring down!  We had Turkey and all the trimmings at lunch but instead of salad or green beans we had………Brussel Sprouts!  Yuck, yuck, yuck.  There is a yummy steamed pudding called a dumpling made in Scotland.  It’s full of dried fruit and spices.  We had this with custard instead of Christmas Pudding.  That was yummy.  What I found really strange is there was no big bowl of berries.  It’s the wrong time of the year.

We were housebound the whole day watching cheesy movies and the Queen’s speech on TV.  One thing that seems to be on every year is the The Snowman by Raymond Briggs.  It is the cartoon version of his book and it’s brilliant.  I think I will stick to my summer Christmases especially for the food.  How do you spend your Christmas?  Do you have a favourite food?  Add a comment and let us know.

