Cool! by Michael Morpurgo

Cool! is a fabulous and entertaining tale of 10-year-old boy called Robbie Ainsley. He was in a car accident and he’s now in a coma. His dog Lucky was with him in the crash and we have to wait to find out … is Lucky really lucky? Is Robbie? What will happen to the “Boy in car accident coma”?

What a fantastic book by one of the best authors that ever lived! It says on the back on the book that “Michael Morpurgo’s name on a book is a guarantee of quality” and I absolutely agree. Cool! made me feel like I so wanted Robbie to break out – it must have been so frustrating for Robbie to be trapped in his own mind without being able to escape. In one part Robbie needed to scratch his nose and I felt so strongly for him, I wanted to scratch it for him – he just couldn’t communicate it!!!

The most moving part was when Robbie thought they were going to turn his life-support machines off – oh my goodness, my heart was with him and it was very stressful! I won’t tell you my favourite part because it was the ending.

I loved the way Michael Morpurgo uses humour in a sad book (Dr. Smellybreath!) and made the people and their feelings so real. He describes the interactions and feelings very well when his family visits and you feel like you are in Robbie’s body: “He looks very pink,” Ellie’s saying and she’s touching my cheek. I can feel the sharpness of her little fingernail. “And he’s very hot, too.” She’s sitting on my bed now. She’s playing with my fingers as if they are toys.”

I would recommend this book to people aged 8+ and who (now & then) enjoy a sad, moving story.

Saoirse

7 Responses so far

  1. 1

    zackids said,

    Great review Saoirse! Michael Morpurgo is definitely one of the best authors that ever lived and I hope he keeps writing books for many, many years.

  2. 2

    cristyburne said,

    Nice review Saoirse! I saw Michael Morpurgo speak about his books in London a couple of years ago and he was amazing. I can’t wait to read this book!

  3. 3

    farhaan said,

    I read this book when I was 11 years old and it was a very good book and sad.

  4. 4

    Anonymous said,

    What was the ending ?

  5. 5

    Anonymous said,

    Pleaaase i really need to know !

    • 6

      zackids said,

      You’ll have to read the book to find out. We can’t tell you here because it would spoil the story for everyone else.

  6. 7

    Anonymous said,

    it is a amazing book


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

