Octavia Boones Big Questions About Life, the Universe and Everything by Rebecca Rupp

Octavia O’Keeffe Boone knows that different people have different answers to life’s BIG QUESTIONS.  The problem is, those answers are forcing her family apart. Her mother, Ray, is under the impression that God is the answer to everything.  Her father, Boone, thinks that she couldn’t be more wrong if she tried.  Octavia is stuck in between, watching helplessly as Ray leaves to do legal work for churches in Wolverton.  But is it true? Can there only be one answer to everything?

To me, this book stood out from others because of the characters and use of dialogue. Octavia is a grapheme synesthete, which means that she sees letters and even words with colours and textures – for instance, Q is like old waxed wood. I loved imagining that I could do that!  My favourite characters are Octavia, because she is witty and she likes Anne of Green Gables just like me, and I also liked Boone, who is an artist. I think that this is a good book for 9 to 12 year olds, and it would suit girls best (but not necessarily!). I give it a 9 out of 10.

By Tierney.

