Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

I had this book recommended to me by a friend and picked it up rather uncertainly! It was huge! Then I looked inside and discovered some great artwork that made up quite a large part of the book.

I really liked this story. It was about a young boy named Hugo Cabret who loves to fix things, especially clocks. The museum burns down and Hugo’s father is killed. Hugo goes to live with his Uncle and meets a girl named Isabelle. He befriends her and starts out on a magical sequence of events …

My favourite character was Hugo because he was very brave and yet a little mischievous. He has a main purpose in life, which is to fix his father’s Automan, which was very precious to his father.

I rate this book a 10 out of 10 because there were very clever drawings telling you every detail of what was going on, which really added something to the story.

Who would enjoy it? Children aged 9 upwards would really understand this book and how wonderful it is to read.

I think it is being made into a film. Does anyone know? Leave a comment if you do know please.

Saoirse, 10

5 Responses so far

  1. 1

    zackids said,

    I love this book Saoirse! It certainly is being made into a movie which comes out at the end of this year. There isn’t a trailer for it yet but you can find out a little bit about it at the Internet Movie Database site http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0970179/

  2. 2

    […] What did Saoirse think of the book? Find out in her review here on the blog. […]

  3. 3

    Rhiannon said,

    I really want to see the movie, so I might have to ask mum if she can take me to see it!

  4. 4

    Rhiannon said,

    Well, at least when it comes out!

  5. 5

    Anonymous said,

    Hi Saoirse!
    Yeah it is being made into a movie.
    I don’t know if it’s out in NZ at the moment, but it’s already at the theatres in OZ!
    Max


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

