February Star Author Competition

Leonie Thorpe is our February Star Author and she has written several stories about Archie Roach, a normal kid who’s useless at everything.  He can’t whistle, can’t swim, can’t score tries, goals or runs, and he’s got no friends.  That is until he moves to Collerden and discovers he’s good at fishing.

For the February Star Author Competition, we want you to add a comment and tell us about your talents, something that you’re really good at.  It could be a sport, like soccer or netball, juggling, cooking, writing, or playing practical jokes on your friends and family.  The 2 kids with the best answers will win a copy of 3 fantastic books by Leonie Thorpe – Archie’s Adventures, Archie Saves the Day, and The Sheep on the Fourth Floor.

All you have to do is add a comment on this post, with your name and email address (so that we can contact you if you win).  The competition closes on Friday 25 February.  See below for Terms and Conditions.

  • To enter this competition you must be between 8 and 12 years old and live in Canterbury. We may ask for proof of your address and your age.
  • If you are a winner, you consent to your name, photograph, entry and/or interview being used for reasonable publicity purposes by Christchurch City Libraries.
  • Staff of Christchurch City Libraries and their immediate families are not able to enter.
  • The competition ends on Friday 25 February, 2011 at 5 pm.
  • We will announce the winners on the Christchurch Kids Blog on Monday 28 February, 2011.
  • We will notify the winners by telephone and/or email.
  • The Christchurch Kids Blog judges decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  • Prizes are as stated and are not transferable.

4 Responses so far

  1. 1

    reardonhs said,

    My hobby is writing. I’ve been a poet for three years, and go to the School for Young Writers every Saturday. Here is a haiku I have written:

    Flax floats down
    the Avon river.
    Natures gondolas.

    I am about to start my fourth year at Writing School tomorrow. When I grow up I would like to be a novelist, a poet and a reviewer.

    • 2

      zackids said,

      I love your haiku Tierney! We would love to see some more of your poems and stories on the blog if you would like to post them 🙂

  2. 4

    Emma said,

    My Hobby is Reading
    My Mum is always trying to get me to stop reading,
    because I normally read when I am supposed to be doing my work!!!

    Emma


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

