Let the fun begin – New Zealand Book Month 2011

March is the month that we celebrate New Zealand books, authors and illustrators.  It’s New Zealand Book Month  – and we have some special events and competitions to celebrate our fantastic authors and illustrators.

Here in Christchurch, we are not letting Mother Nature ruin our fun.  Several events that we had planned for New Zealand Book Month are still going ahead and some of our fantastic New Zealand authors are blogging about their favourite New Zealand children’s books.

So tell us what your favourite New Zealand books are.  Just click on Add a comment at the bottom of this post and tell us what you think.  Any Christchurch kids (aged 8-12 years) who comment on the blog during March will go in the draw to win a selection of great New Zealand books.  Make sure you tell us your name and email address so that we can contact you if you win.

This competition has now closed but we’d still like to hear about your favourite NZ books.

9 Responses so far

  1. 1

    […] Click the picture above for more information and terms and conditions. […]

  2. 2

    Tierney Reardon said,

    My favourite New Zealand books are Margaret Mahy books and Des Hunt books. I really like Maddigans Fantasia, by Margaret Mahy, because of the way that the characters are described. They seem so real and 3D, on paper and in your mind. My favourite Des Hunt book is probably The Moa Cave, because I thought that the plot was really clever. All of his books are so captivating.
    Tierney.

  3. 3

    Alex Parr said,

    One of my favourite books is “Where is the Gold?” It’s one of those books where you get deeper and deeper into the story and it’s really enjoyable and it’s funny. It’s one one of those books where they have a hole in the middle and you turn to the next page but on the other side and it shows the thing on the other side that has the hole.

  4. 4

    […] Let the fun begin – New Zealand Book Month 2011 – add your comments to the blog during March and you could win a bundle of New Zealand children’s books.  There are only 2 days left so you better hurry! […]

  5. 5

    My favourite New Zealand book would be Paddy the wanderer by Dianne Hawford.
    When Lions roar at night by Rosie Boom is another great New Zealand book by a kiwi authors.
    Kaimanawa princess is another great book by Dianne Hawford.
    Kaitangata twitch by Margaret Mahy is my second favourite NZ book, because its even exciting in the first 10 pages, and a wonderful book that will be sure to capture almost every reader.

    Rozyczka

  6. 6

    Saoirse Hill-Shearman said,

    Baa Baa Smart Sheep would have to be one of my new favourites!! I’ve always loved Margaret Mahy and Gavin Bishop. There are some really great NZ books and authors at the moment.

    Saoirse

    • 7

      zackids said,

      You’re right Saoirse, there are some great NZ books and authors out there at the moment. My favourite NZ authors are Brian Falkner and Des Hunt and I think their books should have been finalists in the NZ Post Children’s Book Awards this year.

  7. 8

    Eibhlin Hill-Shearman said,

    I really like Hill and Hole and Baa Baa Smart Sheep from the NZ Post Boks Awards for 2011. I loved Kiss Kiss Yuck Yuck by Kyle Mewburn and Down the back of the chair by Margaret Mahy. She read it to my sister and me once and it was really cool.

    Eibhlin

    • 9

      zackids said,

      Wow, you were lucky having Margaret Mahy read her story to you! I didn’t really like Baa Baa Smart Sheep when I first read it but now that I’ve read it to some classes of kids it’s growing on me 🙂


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

