Hello from the Waikato

It’s great to be your Star Author this month. I’m writing this blog from Hamilton where I live with my family (husband and two kids aged 13 and 14). I have lots of things planned for the blog – including competitions, writing tips and some of my “secrets of a published author”.

First – a bit about my books. When you were 5 or 6 you might have read my books about a dog called Skipper. The books are called “No Skipper” and “Skipper’s Happy Tail”. Children always ask me if we really have a dog called Skipper and the answer has always been “no”. But now I can answer a big waggy-tail “yes” to that question. We now have an 8 month old kelpie-labrador cross called Kelsey. She’s just as playful as Skipper and has a very happy tail. We also have two cats – Moose and Dora. The Skipper books were originally about our cat called Moose. But the editor at Learning Media wanted a book about a dog instead. So Moose the cat became Skipper the dog and the rest is history.

Speaking of history, it’s great that you’re reading some historical books this week. Perhaps you have read some of the books in Scholastic’s My Story series. They are really interesting, easy to read and all about stuff that has actually happened in New Zealand. I wrote one about the Rainbow Warrior bombing called Sabotage! It’s a mystery story. Then a couple of years later I wrote another one called No Survivors about the Erebus tragedy. They were both really hard work and involved heaps of research – but the challenge was worth it. My daughter Sophie is the cover model on No Survivors.

I’d love to hear from anyone who has read and enjoyed any of the books in the My Story series. I loved the one about the Wahine sinking called Abandon Ship. If you want to read an awesome historical book, choose any book in the My Story series. I recommend them.

That’s all for now.

Bye, Sharon

