Would you like to be a character in my next book?

Happy Friday to you all!

I know you’ll be looking forward to the weekend, with all that time to read, play sport, help with the dishes and do your homework! And don’t forget that Sunday is a very special day for mothers…

I mentioned Brian Falkner in my last blog post. Last night I was remembering the day I worked with him at Taupo Intermediate. That’s when I found out that the characters in his books are the names of real kids he has met during his school tours. He has competitions and the winners get to have their names in his books. How cool is that? I’m sure Brian won’t mind if I use a similar tactic! Here’s my cunning plan…

I am cooking up a series of books in my head. At the moment it’s a bit of stew, or a slow cooking casserole you might say. All the bits are still coming together at a low temperature until the flavour is just right. I can’t tell you the idea at the moment, because it would be commercially sensitive. If you don’t know what that means – ask your teacher or parents. Anyway, I’ve been tossing around a few character names and then I came up with this stupendously fantastical idea! Copy off Brian!

You could become a character in my next book!

So here’s the thing – you use this blog to add a comment telling me in a few sentences why your first name should be used as the character in my next book (hopefully book 1 in a series for kids aged about 8-11 years old). If you don’t like your name, you could suggest another name and give the reasons why one of my characters should be called that. I will have four kid characters – two boys and two girls. There will be other characters too, so there’s plenty of opportunity for yours to be chosen. But you have to have a good reason! You have the whole of May to enter, by adding a comment to my Star Author blog posts. I’ll let you know at the end which ones I’ve chosen.

Bye for now.

Sharon

19 Responses so far

  1. 1

    Tierney Reardon said,

    Hi Sharon,
    My name is Tierney, which means ‘noble’ in Gaelic. I love the name, but am not sure if it applies to me or not. I’m homeschooled, and I’m 11 years old.
    I think that my name should be considered because it’s unique, and it isn’t stereotypical. I’m really looking forward to reading your books, because I’m a very big My Story fan. My favourites so far are Chinatown Girl and Aquarius.
    Tierney.

  2. 2

    starauthor said,

    Hi Tierney. Thanks for adding your comment. I think Tierney sounds like a perfect name for one of my book characters. I like your reasons too – and the meaning of the name is great! Very appropriate for a book character. I will have to wait until the end of the month before I make a final choice, but I think your name has a lot of possibilities – and it’s the first entry in my competition so that has to count for something. I like the idea of at least one of my characters being homeschooled. So that’s another helpful point. Thanks again and I hope you manage to track down the My Story books I’ve written. I’ll be interested in your feedback. You’re exactly the right age to read them. All the best. Hope to hear from you again soon. Sharon.

  3. 3

    […] but not least, don’t forget to suggest the name of a character for my next book! I have one entry so far. But there are four main characters, so there’s still room for your […]

  4. 4

    kiakaha75 said,

    Hey Sharon, my name is Rhys, I think that my name would be pretty good for your next book. My name means ‘Chief’ in Welsh, although I haven’t lived up to that title, yet :-)!!

    My name could be for the lead character if they were a natural leader. If you could please consider it then that would do me fine, even if I don’t get it in the book.
    ( I’d also make a pretty good bad dude!) 🙂

    Mum also says that it is very easy to shout out my name when she is grumpy with me, because it is just one syllable.

    Cheers Rhys

  5. 5

    bluepatty said,

    Hi Sharon
    My name is Amy. It’s a French name that means beloved. My name chart says that I’m always giving, understanding of others and charming. My brother Rhys says that’s rubbish., he says I don’t give him anything

    I’d love you to use my name in your book because it’s a beautiful name and I like it.

    Cheers
    Amy 🙂

  6. 6

    starauthor said,

    Hi Amy and Rhys,
    Great to hear from you. I will certainly consider your names for my next book. I enjoyed reading about your name meanings and all that has certainly given me some interesting character ideas. Great work and thanks for being part of my Star Author blog.
    Sharon

  7. 7

    julianne.pask said,

    I am here with Woolston school showingthem howto blog post. My son’s name is Fabian. I think it is a cool name. It means bean grower. At the time my husband worked on an orchard. So it was a horticultural name.

  8. 8

    Hana Pearce said,

    Hi Sharon,

    My name is Hana. It’s pronounced the same way as Hannah, but its a Japanese name. It means beautiful and flower in Japanese. I play football so I’m not really a traditional girl so I love my name except when people spell it wrong!

  9. 9

    starauthor said,

    Wow! Thanks for all those fabulous names so far. It will certainly be a tough job coming up with the final choice. Hopefully I can fit all the names in somewhere in my book – even if they can’t all be main characters. Keep those character names coming.
    Sharon

  10. 10

    holly T said,

    hi Sharon,
    i would love to be in your next book because i have never been in a book before. IF i get into your next book then i will be very pleased anout it and i will tell Zac from the Christchurch City Library and it will be so cool. me and my friends will be talking for ages about what we think your next book will be about and we will say stuff like… ooooohhhhh i het holly will be an adverturious girl. Or she will be a fancy princess in london and be rich and famous and so popular.

    Thanks for your time Holly T =)

  11. 11

    David L T said,

    hi Sharon,

    i would love to be in a book because i am only 8 years old and i would tell all my friends and the would be so proud of me.

    thanks ( by the way i love your books) David

  12. 12

    starauthor said,

    Holly and David,
    Thanks for your lovely entries into my character naming competition. I will make a decision at the end of the month and let you all know the results.
    Sharon

  13. 13

    Hi Sharon
    Rozyczka is my name, learning how to say and spell it is the game.
    It is the polish version of “rosa” meaning rose. I think my name should be in your book because it is unique, maybe in New Zealand anyway. I havn’t come across anyone with the same name yet, but perhaps if I went to Poland I would find that many girls are named Rozyczka. I am 10 yrs old and I am homeschooled. I am clever and I play the piano and violin and reading is my most favourite thing to do.
    Children learn how to say and spell my name very quickly but adults have more trouble and try to change it to Rosy which I absolutely don’t like and I have to insist they use my proper name. Rozyczka is a strong name and once learnt it is never forgotten because it is so out of the ordinary.
    Thanks for considering me, and by the way “love the My story books”
    (Ro- zees- ka)

    • 14

      Lucy Ozich said,

      hi Rozyczka
      I hope I got your name right. My name is Lucy and I think your name should go in a book. It is crisp, cool and beautiful. My name is already in a lot of books so I don’t want to get myself too popular. But I think your name should be out and about.
      see ya
      Lucy

  14. 15

    starauthor said,

    Hi Rozyczka and Lucy Ozich
    Well, I didn’t expect to see so many zzzzzz’s tonight! How fabulous to have more names for my book characters. I love the idea of having a character with an unusual name who is very particular about not being called something else. Fabulous, thanks Rozyczka! You have really given me some great ideas with your entry. And Lucy, you’re right about your name being popular for book characters. But I love your surname. Perhaps I can sneak an Ozich into my book somewhere, with your permission?
    Sharon

  15. 16

    Saoirse said,

    Hi, I’m Saoirse (seer-sha) and it means ‘freedom’ in Irish Gaelic. I am 10 nearly 11 and
    I LOVE books! My name isn’t very common here so it would cool to see it in a book.

  16. 17

    starauthor said,

    Goodness! Such a lot of fascinating names to choose from. I have never heard of the name Saoirse before, but it sounds beautiful – I do love Irish Gaelic names. My character naming decision will be very difficult indeed. I shall have to put on a very special thinking cap.
    Sharon

  17. 18

    Alice said,

    My name is Alice.It’s beutiful and silent. It means ‘truth’. I’ll love my name to be in your next book.

    From Alice

  18. 19

    Gail said,

    Hi. I think that you should use my friend’s name because it isn’t really exotic, it’s just forgotten. Her name is Zelma and it means ‘helmet of God’ in German. By the way, it’s pronounced ZEL-maa… Not Zel MAAAAAA or Velma (you can’t even imagin how many cracks people have had at her cost for Zelda). however, if you don’t like that name, I have another friend named Daryon and I really like it. We can’t figure out what it means (google, step up your game please!). We’re both 14 and we would love to be a part of your book. Am I rambling again?


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

