Writing Secret #1

Hi there

In my first blog post I promised that I would reveal a few writing secrets.  Here’s the first one: Write about what you Know

This morning my daughter told me about a writing assignment she has to do at school today. She has an idea for a story, but wasn’t sure how to stretch the idea out. I told her one of my writing secrets… write about things that you have really done, felt and experienced. So if you want to write about a farm, think back to a farm you visited. Remember the smells, sounds, sights and thoughts you had that day. You can put several ideas together from different farm visits too. The key is to make your writing seem “real” to the reader. If you haven’t been to a farm – ever – then it’s pretty hard to write about it. Seeing something on television or in a picture helps a bit, but your writing isn’t quite the same as the writing of someone who has really experienced a visit to a farm. It’s the real life experiences you write about that make your reader want to keep reading.

For example, in my book called “No Survivors”, I wrote about the main character being bullied at the bike shed for the diary entry on Tuesday 4 September. If you get a chance to read that bit, you’ll understand what I mean. There is no way I could have written that if it hadn’t really happened to me. Your writing doesn’t have to be totally about things you have really done and seen. However, if you add plenty of “real” stuff from your own experience, it will be much more interesting to the reader. Hope that helps!

Sharon

4 Responses so far

  1. 1

    Hi Sharon! I stumbled across your picture on the Christchurch Kids Blog and thought…hmmmm….I know this person and haven’t seen her in ages!!! Great to see you are the May Star Author and thanks for revealing your writing secrets! Just wanted to say hi, hope the family is well and good luck with any of your future stories!

    Greetings from Lesly @ Te Puke Primary School Library

  2. 2

    Tierney Reardon said,

    Hi Sharon,

    Thank you for sharing that secret. When I grow up I want to be a novelist, as well as a poet. I have been going to the School for Young Writers at Hagley, which teaches kids about creative writing, every Saturday for four years now.
    I read all of the writing tips on here, and read as much as I can, because then it’s easier to write.
    Thanks again,
    Tierney.

  3. 3

    starauthor said,

    Tierney
    How wonderful! I’m sure you will achieve your dream of being a novelist. You are putting in so much effort already. I’m very impressed. I wish I had been able to attend a writing school when I was younger. It would have saved a lot of time in the long run. Glad you enjoy all the writing tips the authors are providing. Let me know if you have any specific questions about writing that I might be able to help with. I will have more writing tips to come before the month is over! Keep up the great work.
    Sharon

  4. 4

    starauthor said,

    Hello Lesly,
    How wonderful to hear from you after all these years. Glad to know you are still enjoying Te Puke. We have moved from Kihikihi to Hamilton recently and we are thoroughly enjoying it. My son is in Year 10 and my daughter is in Year 9. We’re all growing older and wiser, I hope! Love to catch up. I visit schools as an author, so perhaps I can come to Te Puke.
    All the best
    Sharon


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

