NZ Post Children’s Book Awards Finalists 2011 – Diana Menefy

My name is Diana Menefy and I wrote Shadow of the Boyd.  I started writing Shadow of the Boyd ten years ago, and completed it in three separate bursts of writing.  I nearly didn’t finish it, because each time my writing got interrupted it was harder to get back into the story and the time period it was set in 1809. I’m so glad I persisted, because it has turned out to be a neat book and all my hard work has been rewarded with my selection as a finalist in the NZ Post Children’s Book Awards.  Thomas was a special person who started out as a naive boy and grew into a strong character.  I had such fun writing Thomas.  I laughed, and cried, with him.  I think I learnt almost as much as the real Thomas had to when he started his apprenticeship on the Boyd.

Read Rhys’ review of Shadow of the Boyd.

