Instant Poems

I assume we are all getting the rain this morning. (It just became heavier when I wrote that!) I feel inspired to give you one of my poetry secrets – and rain is a good thing to write about.

I call these “Instant Poems” – because they’re quick to write and they get your brain working fast.

Line 1: (Use one of these choices…or something similar for the opening)

The rain falls…

The rain pours…

The rain comes down…

Line 2: Hint – this is where we think of something similar to the rain

Choose one of these examples, or one of your own: tears, overflowing tap, waterfall, river…

So if we choose waterfall, our first two lines could be…

The rain comes down

Like a waterfall tumbling over an invisible cliff…

Lines 3 and 4: This is where we brainstorm a waterfall (or whichever other similar thing we chose)

Waterfall brainstorm: rushing, thick, thunderous, hidden air pockets, heavy, loud, white out, never ending, incessant, persistent, wet, vertical, soaking etc

We can do anything with these words for lines 3 and 4. Here is an example of how we might use those words together

It thunders head first to its destination below,

Soaking everything in its path instantly

Line 5: This line is about you, your feelings or your wishes.

Start with: I wish, I feel, I think, I wonder, I want

Here are some possibilities:

I wish we could return to the dry sunny silence of yesterday.

I feel scared that it will never end.

I think the ground is a magnet for the rain.

I wonder if Heaven is crying.

I want to run outside and drink every drop.

Finally: here’s how our rain poem might look…

The rain comes down

Like a waterfall tumbling over an invisible cliff.

It thunders head first to its destination below,

Soaking everything in its path instantly

I think the ground is a magnet for the rain.

So, there you are. An instant poem about the rain. You can use this technique to write about anything in five lines.  I would love to read your instant poems!

Bye for now

Sharon

5 Responses so far

  1. 1

    Tierney Reardon said,

    Hi Sharon,
    These are great! I love writing poetry so much! My favourite end that you wrote was ‘I wonder if Heaven is crying’.
    Tierney.

  2. 2

    starauthor said,

    Tierney. Thanks! I love these poems too. They’re so easy to write and you can make up something quite original and descriptive about any topic – the sun, moon, tree, flower, animal, insect, building, toy, person… Lovely to have your feedback and yes, I like the Heaven crying one as well. (But I wanted to keep things a bit more up tempo!) Great to hear from you again.
    Sharon

  3. 3

    S Hill said,

    This is a superb post! Sharon, is there any chance I can re-post it onto our School Library Blog? Your posts have been fantastic this month.

    Saskia
    Queenspark School Library

  4. 4

    starauthor said,

    Saskia,
    It’s fine with me as long as it’s fine with Zac. It’s great to know I’ve been of help out there! And thanks for the wonderful feedback. Very encouraging.
    Sharon

    • 5

      S Hill said,

      Thanks very much Sharon. Zac lets me re-post things that I think are right for the students in our school and it makes lovely connections between public library and school library blogs. 🙂

      Thanks again.

      Saskia 🙂


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

