Finders Keepers by Emily Rodda.

Finders Keepers is about a boy called Patrick, who takes part in a bizarre game show that’s out of this world. He travels across the Barrier, an invisible force separating Patrick’s world from another, where he meets bubbly Boopie Cupid, grumpy Max, and presenter Lucky Lamont. Patrick has no intention to win this game show, he just wants to get home… until one of the prizes turns out to be his dream computer. Patrick accepts, and the game is explained. The Barrier often breaks, sucking random items through to the other world. The aim of the game is to retrieve these items, and return them to their owners. Three people step forth, and give Patrick tricky riddles that he’ll have to solve to be able to start looking for the items. Will Patrick suceed?
I loved Finders Keepers, as well as it’s sequel, The Time Keeper, because the characters seem real, but different. My favourite character is Boopie Cupid, because she’s very talkative,which I can relate to. Both boys and girls would like these books, or maybe boys would like them more. I’m not too sure.
Having a Barrier that leaks things is a really good idea, I thought. Now I know where all of my odd socks went! Emily Rodda has also written other books, such as the Deltora series, the Rondo series, and the Fairy Realm for younger children. I give this book a 10 out of 10.
Tierney.

2 Responses so far

  1. 1

    Saoirse's Mum said,

    Wonderful review (as usual!) Tierney. I think I might buy these books for our School Library. I always keep an eye out for your great reviews on this blog. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    xx


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

