Lily Alone by Jacqueline Wilson

Lily is eleven years old, and lives with her mum and siblings, Bliss, Baxter and Pixie. One day her mum is invited to Spain for a holiday by her new boyfriend Gordon, and accepts, leaving the four children home alone. Lily tries her best to care for her brother and sisters, feeding them whatever is in the cupboard- in other words, ice cream, biscuits and more ice cream. It isn’t long until someone finds out that they are alone and not at school, and Lily and her siblings have to escape to the park, where they sleep in a hollow tree. At one point they can’t find their tree, and have to eat scraps from a cafe until they find it again. Just when Lily does have things under control, an accident occurs, and soon, everyone knows…

One thing that I didn’t like about this book is the mother. Before she leaves for Spain, she takes the children on a shopping trip, and she uses a credit card that she doesn’t own. And when she does return, she goes to court, and the children think that she hasn’t done anything wrong. I did enjoy the dialogue, and the way that the author makes the characters come alive. My favourite character is Lily, because she is so sensible. What I mean is, she is more sensible than her mum. I think that girls would like this book more, and I give it a 6 out of 10.

Tierney,11.

3 Responses so far

  1. 1

    zackids said,

    I didn’t like the mother either Tierney. She’s only interested in herself and seems to forget that she has her children to look after. I’m glad my mum isn’t like that!

  2. 2

    Bi Ling said,

    Hey Tierney! I like Lily alone too. In fact Jacqueline Wilson’s my favourite author!!!!!!!!!!

  3. 3

    Emily 9 said,

    Lily Alone sounds like a good and interesting book I can’t wait to read it


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

