Tena Koe again from Sandy Nelson

HI AGAIN CHRISTCHURCH AND OTHER KIDS:  I do so hope Shaky Town is having a quiet week.

Today I have been thinking about what started me writing. That’s because some of you might be thinking about being writers. I know a girl who lives near Shaky-Town in a little town called Rolleston who loves writing and is thinking about keeping on writing when she grows up. Her name is Fable. I think Fable is a great name for someone who loves reading and writing. If you don’t know what I mean, then you need to find out what a fable is.  If you find out the meaning of fable, please blog it for everyone else – Thanks heaps.

In my next post, I’ll tell you how I ended up writing a book about a boy and a warship. It was a bit of a surprise to me and to people who know me, because I didn’t know much about warships and I love the sea but I love mountains much more.

FOR NOW, I AM GOING TO TELL YOU ABOUT ONE OF MY MOST FAVOURITE BOOKS – This book was my very favourite book for many years, from when I was about 8 or 9 years old and a teacher named Mrs Scott read it to my class when I was a skinny girl with long blonde hair at Pleasant Point Primary School.

This book got me interested in history, an interest I have kept for my whole life, an interest that helped lead me into teaching and writing. Books are powerful!

The Silver Sword – by Ian Serraillier

ISBN 0-14-030146-1

The Silver Sword is about four children in Poland in World War Two. Three of the children belong to one family. The fourth child, an orphan boy named Jan, becomes their friend. The story is about what happens to Jan and his treasures (including a chicken and a silver sword) and to the family. It is an adventure story and a war story and a story about love and bravery. It’s a great book. You should read it but I’ll give you a warning.

HERE’S THE WARNING: The first chapter is not about the children. It’s about the Dad having a scary time. I remember that when Mrs Scott was reading to us I didn’t like the start of the book all that much, but I grew to really, really love it.

The Silver Sword has been published lots of times. Here are two of the covers it has had.  I’m sure you’ll find this book in your library. Remember to ask for help if you can’t find a book you want. Librarians love helping keen readers.

Ka kite ano   From Sandy Nelson

Writer of THE GHOSTS OF IRON BOTTOM SOUND

