MORE ON HOW I NEARLY GAVE UP …

Hello everyone.

It’s Saturday. I should be doing school-work, or house-work, or writing, or taking my dog for a walk, but I’ll write to you first.

That’s called procrastinating.  Are you good at procrastinating? (putting things off, making excuses for not doing what you should be doing).

As I told you last night …

I NEARLY GAVE UP – I NEARLY DIDN’T BECOME A WRITER

 I was sitting in my living room late at night, feeling very tired and worried because I had no ideas for the writing task Kate de Goldi have given us.

This is what I did:

I didn’t invent a new character. Instead I used the same character I had been writing about that day, a boy named Paddy who I had invented using a mind map and ideas that mixed up bits from lots of boys I knew, mostly from my teaching. I already liked Paddy and he was getting real in my head so it was a good decision to think about him more instead of inventing a new character.

But Paddy needed a hobby – something he was so into that it was almost like an obsession. I was stuck. I sat and I thought and I thought. I had an empty piece of paper on my knees and a pen in my hand. I was nearly ready to give up. Finally I gave a big sigh and decided to have a rest from thinking about what Paddy’s interest might be.

I put down the paper and pen and picked up a book from our coffee table. It was a book I had never seen before, a book my eldest son Josh had got out from the Twizel Library, a book about shipwrecks in a place named Iron Bottom Sound. I had never heard of Iron Bottom Sound.

I flicked though the pages. I found a map. I found an underwater image of H.M.A.S. Canberra, the largest ship Australia lost in World War Two. I found photos that didn’t look like they could be real but they were. I found stories that made me think of sharks and bravery and wasted lives and … ghosts. I was hooked!

This is what the book looks like. It’s an amazing book. I sent a copy of my book to the writer Robert Ballard to thank him for motivating me, and he sent me a copy of another one of his books, one about the Bismarck. Robert Ballard is one of my heroes. I’ll tell you more about him another day. 

 

Anway, that’s how I started writing!

I’M GLAD I DID

I HOPE YOU ARE TOO

Have a great day and remember to post to me. I’d love to hear from you!

Sandy Nelson

Author of The Ghosts of Iron Bottom Sound

 

 

