Shrine of Remembrance – Melbourne

Hi everyone!

It’s snowing in Twizel and it’s quite probably snowing where you are too! My school, Twizel Area School is closed today. I’ve been to school anyway and done lots of work, and I’ll go back soon, but I’m just having a break at home while my boys play in the snow. They are making a very high fort just outside the window from where I am sitting!

Today I want to tell you about my trip to Melbourne last year. I’ve already told you I got to meet my email-friend Mac Gregory. Well, my family and I also visited the Shrine of Remembrance – Melbourne people call it ‘The Shrine.’

The Shrine is Melbourne’s war memorial. It’s not really a museum. It’s more a place for remembering and for showing respect. It’s a beautiful and sad place and I cried when I was there. Here are some photos from our time at The Shrine of Remembrance. Note that H.M.A.S. Canberra, the ship in The Ghosts of Iron Bottom Sound, is one of the ships named on the plaque.

3 Responses so far

  1. 1

    Morgan Davidson said,

    Hi.
    I bet your holiday to Melbourne was fun. One day I hope I can go to the Shrine of Remembrance.

  2. 3

    Anonymous said,

    Hi Morgan, thanks for your comment. The Shrine is a special place. The trams in Melbourne are fun too.
    From Mrs Nelson


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

