Robert Ballard and Punctuation

Hi everyone,

Today I have been thinking about Robert Ballard, the man whose book inspired my book THE GHOSTS OF IRON BOTTOM SOUND

Robert Ballard says that the sea is the world’s biggest museum. He loves finding and exploring shipwrecks (he found Titanic, H.M.A.S. Canberra – the ship in my book, Bismarck, and many others). He also believes strongly in the importance of protecting the oceans. Robert Ballard is definetly one of my heroes.

Here is a link to an interview for children, about him. If you search for yourself, you will find lots of other information, including photos and U-tube clips. If you look at shipwreck books in a library or bookshop, there’s a very high chance that you’ll find some books by him.

http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/kids/stories/peopleplaces/interview-with-ballard/

 I have also been thinking about punctuation and how important it is.

Do I sound like a teacher?

Mmm, maybe that’s because I am. But I am also a reader and a writer.

Someone once told me that ‘punctuation is the secret code of writing.’

I agree.

So kids, take care with your punctuation. Be kind to your readers!

And be kind to yourself. Treasure the wonderful person that you are.

From the August Star Author

Sandy Nelson

HAVE YOU ENTERED ZAC”S COMPETITION TO TRY TO WIN A COPY OF MY BOOK?

