September Star Author Competition

Our Star Author this month is the very talented Sally Murphy.  Sally writes all sorts of books, including novels and picture books.  Her two most popular books Pearl vs. The World and Toppling are verse novels, which is a type of story that is written in verse, like a poem. For our Septembr Star Author Competition we have copies of these two books by Sally to give away.

To get in the draw to win copies of Pearl vs. The World and Toppling, we want you to share a poem with us.  It could be a poem that you have written yourself or a poem written by someone else that you really like.  If you don’t know many poems, you can find heaps of great poetry books in your library.  To enter, just leave a comment on this post with your poem, your name and email address (so that we can contact you if you win).  The competition closes Friday 23 September.

See below for terms and conditions 

  • To enter this competition you must be between 8 and 13 years old and live in Canterbury. We may ask for proof of your address and your age.
  • If you are a winner, you consent to your name, photograph, entry and/or interview being used for reasonable publicity purposes by Christchurch City Libraries.
  • Staff of Christchurch City Libraries and their immediate families are not able to enter.
  • The competition ends on Friday 23 September at 5pm.
  • We will announce the winners on the Christchurch Kids Blog on Monday 26 September 2011.
  • We will notify the winners by telephone and/or email.
  • The Christchurch Kids Blog judges decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  • Prizes are as stated and are not transferable.

8 Responses so far

  1. 1

    Rhiannon said,

    Hi, this is actually some of the poems in Pearl verses the world.- Clever title, Sally!

    First poem:

    There was a young lady called Pearl
    Who was not a rhyming type girl
    She said, “I’ve no time
    For poems that rhyme”
    Which made her poor teacher go hurl.

    Second:

    A teacher known as Bruuff
    Was very, very gruff.
    She preached and she taught
    Much more than she ought
    Till the class had had more than enough.

    And last:

    A cat
    A rat
    A bat
    A hat
    All rhyme-
    Fancy that!
    All hats and cats
    And sometimes rhyme just leaves me flat.

  2. 2

    Shayla said,

    This is my poem

    The books I have read I have enjoyed,

    I have read Geronimo Stilton.

    My sister Rhiannon that always goes on this blog has read and she said it is a good book.

  3. 4

    bluepatty said,

    It wasn’t my fault

    It wasn’t my fault that the bike is in the dump
    It wasn’t my fault that the dog is in the cupboard
    Uh oh, he’s eating all the dog treats

    It wasn’t my fault that the cat was in the hat
    It wasn’t my fault that the flowers were picked
    But they do look awfully nice in that vase

    It wasn’t my fault that the garage door was unlocked
    At least everything is still there

    It wasn’t my fault that the earth started shaking
    Uh oh, here’s another one!

    By Amy

  4. 6

    Rhiannon said,

    Did you realise that you put Septembr Star Author in the details?

  5. 7

    Rhiannon said,

    Hi Zac I forgot to add my e-mail address when I entered the competition and I have won. Could you please send me an e-mail telling me how to claim my prize. Thank you.

    • 8

      zackids said,

      Hi Rhiannon. I’ve sent you an email so if you could send me one back with your address I’ll send your prize to you.

      Zac


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

