Time Freeze

Science fiction grabbed me as a teenager. I was an impatient reader and loved short sci-fi stories packed with ideas. They had cool surprise endings too, like Arthur C Clarke’s All the Time in the World about a man who freezes time; and Ray Bradbury’s A Sound of Thunder where an insect changes history. I still treasure my copy of Bradbury’s Golden Apples of the Sun – cost me 65c new in 1970; about an hour’s raspberry picking then.
A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle was also great with it’s spiritual physics and the ending when the disembodied alien brain is defeated. It’s the inspiration for a sci-fi novel I’m working on. I like what L’Engle said about writing too:

You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children.

I loved sci-fi movies too, like Planet of the Apes (1968, final shot pictured), and movies where scientists battled giant insects – the stop-motion animation so endearing. The monsters often attacked Tokyo so I made this the setting for my latest novel Wings, about bees battling giant hornets.

That’s all for now about the stories that made me. Tune in next blog for some writing tips.

4 Responses so far

  1. 1

    zackids said,

    I’ve really enjoyed Sting and Wings because they’re so different from other fantasy or animal stories and Ziggy is a cool character. I’m a huge sci-fi fan (both books and movies) and hope that your sci-fi novel gets published so that I can read it.

  2. 3

    R. H. Culp said,

    Arthur C Clarke wrote a lot of great short stories too that moved quick and lots of times had interesting twists at the end. There’s a great anthology “The Collected Short Stories of Arthur C Clarke” that I was delighted to discover. Bite-size stories are great.


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

