Hello from Sandy…

Hi everyone. My name is Sandy and I’m the author of the Samurai Kids series, Polar Boy and Jaguar Warrior. I am really interested in ancient history and writing stories gives me the opportunity to explore what it was like to be a kid hundreds and hundreds of years ago – it was a lot more dangerous than now! I also like jigsaw puzzles, tree frogs (I have four in a terrarium), hockey and white chocolate.

Long before I accidentally became an author (that’s a story for another post), I was a reader. I can still remember the first book I was given at a present on my fourth birthday. It was Goldilocks and the Three Bears. On the cover was the scariest bear in the whole world. It frightened me so much my mother hid it in in the linen cupboard under all the bath towels.

But I couldn’t stay away from it . I kept looking in the cupboard to check the book was still there, to check if it was a frightening as I remembered. It always was. Even now, I am afraid of bears and have written two books with ferocious bears in them. You’ll find lots of polar bears in Polar Boy and a sun bear in the fifth Samurai Kids book, Golden Bat. Luckily for me there are no wild bears in Australia except koalas – and I’m not scared of those!

Can you remember the first book that had a big impact on you? I’d love to hear about it. Unless of course it was about a scary bear!

Unlike many other authors, I didn’t grow up in a house full of books. For a long time the only book I owned was the scary bear one. When I started school, it didn’t take me long to read my way through our small primary school library. But my best library memory is when I started high school. It was a huge place with a huge, new library. Shelves and more shelves. I didn’t know where to start so being a logical person I started at A and over the next few years, worked my way towards Z. Lots of science fiction writers start with (Asimov, Aldris…) so for a long time they were my favourite books.

Since then there have been lots of books in my life and I read about three a week. In addition to writing books, I also review books. Who could say no to a free book? Not me! My most favourite recent book is by John Flanagan who wrote the Ranger’s Apprentice series. It’s the first book in his new Brotherband series, and is called Outcasts

What was the last book you read? Would you recommend it? I am always looking for new books to read.

2 Responses so far

  1. 1

    Anonymous said,

    Dear Sandy

    I’ve read all your samurai books and always thought that you were Sensei. Are you? Because you don’t look like I imagined you’d look.

    Your fan, Bill.

  2. 2

    […] Hello from Sandy Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

