Gifted Hands, a biography of Ben Carson

Ben Carson is an amazing man, he was the first person to separate conjoined twins joined by the back of the head and complete it successfully. Yet he was told that he would amount to nothing, except life in a jail-cell.

During his childhood his mother had a third-grade education, he had a pathological temper and he lacked motivation. Everything around him said he was a failure, except his mother, for it was her who inspired him and pushed to make something of his life.  This is because she could see the potential hiding in her son, Ben Carson.

Gifted Hands is very inspiring and you will just want to keep reading more and more about his work. The neurosurgery part of the book is what I like the best about it, it gives you lots of interesting detail of the part of surgery no-one really knows about. I found it the best part because it is so very detailed, and just gives you that little bit more of emotion that you don’t get so much of in other non-fiction books.

I would recommend it to people 11+ ( Adults should read it too.)

This book really made me look at my own decisions and inspired me to do things out of my comfort zone. I would read it over and over and over again if I got the chance.

11/10 a personal favourite, if you like this then you might want to try Think Big by Ben Carson himself. ( I’m planning on reading this myself next.)

Rhys

11 Responses so far

  1. 1

    zackids said,

    Wow! This sounds like a really interesting book Rhys. Thanks for your fantastic review 🙂

  2. 3

    Anonymous said,

    Sounds a great book Rhys. Will try and see if the Library here in Rotorua has ir for loan. A well written review. Grandma x

  3. 4

    Anonymous said,

    What a great review Rhys. I will certainly be loking for this book on the shelves for holiday reading. Thank you. Mrs G

  4. 5

    kiakaha75 said,

    Thanks guys, you might like to see some of the excerpts from the movie.

    Thanks again for your comments.

    Rhys

  5. 6

    Anonymous said,

    Great review 🙂

    I’ve read a bit about him myself. An inspirational story which shows that determination, hard work and belief can get you to where you want to go. Will have to dust off my library card and compete with everyone else to get this out over Xmas.

    Dad

  6. 7

    Anonymous said,

    Ben is going to be visiting New Zealand in March next year. Check out either the Duffy Books in Homes or Starship Foundation websites to find out more!

  7. 8

    zackids said,

    Hey Rhys, I was reading another book blog today and came across this article about Ben Carson that I thought you might like to have a look at – http://beattiesbookblog.blogspot.com/2011/11/gifted-surgeon-helps-kiwi-brains.html

    My girlfriend is now constantly reminding me that I need to get this book from the library for her because she thinks it sounds interesting too. I’m going to try and find the DVD of the movie to watch too.

    • 9

      kiakaha75 said,

      Thanks for the great website Zac, wouldn’t it be great if Ben Carson could come to Christchurch.I’ve emailed them to see if he was coming here. i think it’s quite a freaky coincidence that I just read the book and heard he was coming to New Zealand!

      I got Think big today and can’t wait to read it after i have finished The Death Cure.

      • 10

        zackids said,

        I thought that was a really freaky coincidence! I’ll look forward to hearing what you think of Think Big.

  8. 11

    Anonymous said,

    Woah Rhys!
    Awesome review.
    You definitely take after your mum, as she has awesome blogging skills too.
    You’ve made me want to read the book, and find out more about him.
    Well done 🙂
    Paula / Riccarton High School.


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

