Books at the Movies – The Adventures of Tintin Competition

There are so many great movies coming out in cinemas in the Christmas holidays, and the one I’m most looking forward to is The Adventures of Tintin: Secret of the Unicorn.  The movie is based on three of Herge’s Tintin books – The Crab with the Golden Claws, The Secret of the Unicorn and Red Rackham’s Treasure.

Thanks to HarperCollins NZ, Random House NZ and Hardie Grant Egmont we have a MASSIVE Tintin prize pack to give away.  The winner will get a copy of the amazing book, The Art of the Adventures of Tintin, a set of the Tintin movie tie-in books, a Tintin poster and a movie pass to go and see the movie at Hoyts.  One runner-up will win a Tintin poster and a movie pass.

Thanks for entering our Tintin Competition.  Here are our lucky winners:

Main prize winner is – Leo
Runner up – Bryn

5 Responses so far

  1. 1

    CSS Tips said,

    […] sure you enter our MASSIVE Tintin competition to win heaps of cool Tintin prizes. Tagged as: competition, heaps, massive, prizes, tintin Leave a […]

  2. 2

    Leo Suggate said,

    I have read all the Tintin books, own most of them, my favourite characters are probably the two Thom(p)son’s, because they are always doing stupid things i.e. walking off the plane-boat thing in King Ottokar’s Sceptre. I also like Professor Calculus, because he always acts deaf, and Captain Haddock is always getting angry at him i.e. in the book, Red Rackhams Treasure. when he asks the captain “was that a fish jumping out of the water just then,” the captain replies, “no, it was a grand piano,” calculus replies, “ah… I didn’t think it could of been a fish.” My favourite Tintin book is probably The Land of Black Gold, I especally like the two Thom(p)son’s in that one, when they eat the pills, and it makes each of them grow huge green beards, with bubbles coming out of there mouth.
    I like Tintin mainly because they always have a good storyline, you can read them as many times as you like without getting bored (I have probably read most of the at least five times!) They also always have a good plot (especially for the bad people.) No matter what the bad people do Tintin will always get them back i.e. in The Blue Lotus, when they discover Rastapopoulos is behind the plot, Rastapopoulos and his gang open the oil drum (which was full of opium) which Tintin was “hiding” in, and then Tintin’s friends (the son’s of the dragon) all come out of the other oil/opium drums.
    Tintin is my favourite book, because Hergé writes them so well, and if you ever want a good story, you can always count on Tintin.

    • 3

      zackids said,

      Thanks for your fantastic entry Leo! It’s always good to meet another Tintin fan 🙂 I can’t wait for the movie!

  3. 4

    Bryn Hill said,

    I know who the world’s biggest Tintin fan is; he is from Christchurch and his name is Bryn! My passion for Tintin began when I was about five years old, and seven years later I am still fanatical about him. I can read a Tintin book and get the same thrill and enjoyment out of it even though I have read it countless times before. I wonder if Herge was still alive and he wrote more Tintin books, where in the world would they be set? Would they be set in a place I have been to? The moment in time that Herge captures in each scene is magical, whether it is jumping off a fence and onto a moving car, or the realistic and hilarious facial expressions…the illustrations make me smile and laugh. I think Tintin and I are similar in some ways – such as our curiosity and determination, our loyal canine companions and our good friends. Sometimes, my Dad and I sit down somewhere quiet on the floor and enjoy reading a Tintin book together. When I heard that a Tintin movie was going to be released, Dad and I joked that we would camp outside the theatre and be the first ones to watch it! All of my family knows that I am a major Tintin fan and Tintin will always have a place in my heart.

  4. 5

    hi I am addicted to that book


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

