Getting Started

I’m often asked, what got me started in this weird old writing game? It’s a question I can answer with absolute accuracy. When I was a youngster, after my 11 Plus exams (as they were called in those days) I was sent to continue my education in a boarding school, while my parents (my dad was in the Royal Air Force) spent a couple of years working in Singapore. The boarding school was a cold, unfriendly place and I didn’t make many friends there. Consequently, I spent a lot of time in the school library, immersed in a book. One story in particular gripped my imagination. It was Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury, a dark fantasy about two young boys who visit a really strange and disturbing carnival. I breathed the book in like oxygen and when I had finished it, I knew right then and there, that I wanted to be a writer myself, that I wanted to weave incredible dreams that would keep young readers spellbound as they devoured my words. I started straight away, creating short stories and showing them to everyone I met. The good news? It only took me ten years to learn how to do it well enough to sell my first novel! so I was wondering… do any you out there have a favourite book that makes you want to write? If so, drop me a line and let me know what it is and why it inspires you so!

2 Responses so far


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

