February Star Author Competition

Our fantastic Star Author this month is Philip Caveney.  Philip has written books in a couple of different series, including the Sebastian Darke and Alex Devlin series.  His latest series is the Movie Maniacs series, and the first book is called Night on Terror Island.

You can win a copy of Night on Terror Island in our February Star Author Competition.  Night on Terror Island is about a couple of kids who find themselves stuck in a movie, so we want you to tell us: If you could be trapped in a movie which one would you choose?  To get in the draw leave a comment on this post with your answer, your name and email address (so that we can contact you if you win).  Competition closes Monday 27th February, 2012.

See below for terms and conditions 

  • To enter this competition you must be between 8 and 13 years old and live in Canterbury. We may ask for proof of your address and your age.
  • If you are a winner, you consent to your name, photograph, entry and/or interview being used for reasonable publicity purposes by Christchurch City Libraries.
  • Staff of Christchurch City Libraries and their immediate families are not able to enter.
  • The competition ends on Monday 27 February 2012 at 5pm.
  • We will announce the winners on the Christchurch Kids Blog on Tuesday 28 February 2012.
  • We will notify the winners by telephone and/or email.
  • The Christchurch Kids Blog judges decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  • Prizes are as stated and are not transferable.

11 Responses so far

  1. 1

    Hey, if I could be in any movie I’d be in The Vampire’s Assistant because the Cirque Du Freak would be cool.

  2. 2

    sai said,

    The movie that i want to be in is alvin&chipmonks three.

  3. 3

    seth said,

    the movie that i would like to be in the last airbender

  4. 4

    Wilson said,

    I would be trapped in a movie called Blind side because I could play football.

  5. 5

    jackson said,

    The movie I would be in would be the muppets because it is really funny and I would love to be a muppet. And I would love to see the Frog kiss Miss Piggy.

  6. 6

    miriam mcfie rose said,

    I would like to be trapped in the movie alvin and the chipmnks.

  7. 7

    hiram said,

    The movie I would like to be trapped in is Harry potter, because it would be awesome to fly around on broomsticks and use a wand and do magic.

  8. 8

    Lehman said,

    The movie series I would like to be trapped in would be the Harry Potter series. It would be awesome! There would be so much magic in the air and it would be absolutely fantastic to experience a world of suspense and mystery, and discover the amazing wonders of Hogwarts school of witchcraft and wizadry!

  9. 9

    orson Brunt said,

    the movie that I would be stuck in Alvin and a Chipmank chipwirked …. Because I can be one of the savoir and I would ask them if they can talk if they can I would stay with them and wait for some people to save us if they did I would go back home and see my famliy and be friends with them.

  10. 10

    Tierney Reardon said,

    Hi,

    I think that I would like to be trapped in The Lord Of The Rings- The Fellowship of the Ring. I was going to choose Harry Potter, but as interesting it would be to be able to explore the Hogwarts Castle and interact with Harry, Ron and Hermione, I can’t change the course of the actual movie, and so I would be hearing nothing but “Beware The Heir of Slytherin!” and so on. I would have much more of an adventure walking with the elves in Rivendell, tramping through snow in the Misty Mountains, battling with Legolas, Gimli and Gandalf in Moria, and of course enjoing the peace and quiet of the Shire. I enjoy the books just as much as the films, and love imagining I am in the book with them. I would spend my time in the movie chatting with Arwen, having mock sword fights with Boromir, having parties with the hobbits, staring at the One Ring, and learning spells from Gandalf. Oh, and I would attend Bilbo’s birthday party!
    Tierney.

  11. 11

    Tierney Reardon said,

    Whoops! I was one day late! Sorry, I only just realised. Ignore my post, guys!


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

