The Dead

Right, so, the next three blogs I’m going to do will just cover my Dead Trilogy (mwahahahahaha!) First up, book 1, The Dead. Which goes something like this: “Lazarus Stone is about to turn sixteen when, one night, his normal life is ripped to shreds by a skinless figure drenched in blood. He has a message: The Dead are coming. Now Lazarus is all that stands in their way. To fulfil his destiny, he must confront not only the dark past of his family, but horrors more gruesome than even Hell could invent. And it all begins with the reek of rotting flesh …”

Sounds fun, doesn’t it? And it is! The first book is the shortest and, from the outset, I wanted it, and the rest of Lazarus’s tale, to be a breathless one, something that would have you exhausted by the end of it, packed with cliff hangers and hideous monsters. And all of it drawing on not just my love of horror, but a little bit of biblical stuff, and also (if you know your horror movies and such like) have a fair few nods to some of the classics. I loved writing it, and being able to take the story through 200,000 words was fab. But book 1 is very special. It was the first one for me that got me started on this writing road, and Lazarus, Craig, Arielle and the rest will, I think, stay with me forever. Which is quite amazing, really, considering they’re imaginary! So grab a copy and have a read and don’t turn out out the light…

