Of Pie and Poetry

Tomorrow (today for you) is the Thanksgiving holiday in America. Families and friends gather for turkey dinner with stuffing, cranberries, mashed potatoes, gravy, candied sweet potatoes, green bean casserole, dinner rolls, corn bread, jello salad, green salad…

And after all that? Pie. Pumpkin pie, pecan pie, mincemeat pie, chess pie, apple pie. You get the idea. A feast.

I have a particular fondness for pie, as anyone who’s read my books may have noticed. Pie appears in all four of my published novels as well as the novel I’m working on now. I didn’t set out to write about pie, but clearly it’s on my mind a lot. Look back at stories you’ve written. Do your favorite things make frequent appearances?

Pie takes front stage in The Luck of the Buttons when we discover that the comically unlucky Button family gathers for pie whenever there’s trouble. And the Buttons find themselves in trouble a lot. The pie eating (and trouble) continue in Button Down.

Pie in my life is nothing but good luck, and I’ll be baking my a pumpkin pie tomorrow, my favorite. I will give thanks for readers like you who make me want to write books.

Because every celebration deserves a poem, I’ll share with you one of my favorite poems of thanks from childhood.

The Sun by John Drinkwater

I told the Sun that I was glad,

I’m sure I don’t know why;

Somehow the pleasant way he had

Of shining in the sky,

Just put a notion in my head

That wouldn’t it be fun

If, walking on the hill, I said

“I’m happy” to the Sun.

Happy Thanksgiving!

13 Responses so far

  1. 1

    Tierney said,

    Mmmm, I love pie! Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. 3

    Ella said,

    I love pie too!! Who doesn’t!? 🙂
    Happy Thanksgiving! 😀

  3. 5

    Aisling said,

    Happy Thanksgiving! We don’t have it here though! 😉 Maybe we should…all those pies sound amazing, I’ve never had pumpkin pie and can’t imagine how it tastes!!!!

    I just finished your Dear Papa (from the library!) I really liked how it was all written in letters so you could imagine what happened from how she wrote. Isabelle was interesting and it was funny how she misbehaved on purpose!!

    • 6

      Ella said,

      I know exactly what you mean, about Isabelle, Aisling!! ( I love your name! 🙂 )
      Anne did a fantastic job of making Isabelle cute, funny and grown up, all at the same time!
      All those lovely pies…mmmm! It’s making my mouth water, just thinking about it! 😛

      • 7

        Tierney said,

        I looooove pie! Apple especially. And chicken.

      • 8

        Aisling said,

        (thanks! Most people pronounce it wrong >.< I like your name too, Ella is such a graceful name :))

        You got it exactly, Isabelle is so cute trying to figure out how she can get her old life back…but almost against her will she ends up adapting to her new life and growing up a lot. I hope we can get more of your books in our library Anne!!

    • 9

      starauthor said,

      Thank you, Aisling! I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed Dear Papa. Here is a link to my favorite pumpkin pie recipe: http://www.verybestbaking.com/recipes/18470/libbys-famous-pumpkin-pie/detail.aspx. It’s quick and easy. Give it a try and let me know how you like it! Be sure to top with whipping cream. 🙂

  4. 10

    Ella said,

    Thanks, Aisling! ( How do you pronounce your name?) 🙂
    How old are you? I’m 13.
    It’s great that you and I think exactly the same about Isabelle! 😀
    It’s nice chatting to you!

    Ella 😀

    • 11

      Aisling said,

      It’s pronounced Ashling and I just turned 13 last week, so we are the same age, yay!! It’s nice chatting with you too!! 🙂

  5. 12

    zackids said,

    We will have 3 more of Anne’s books in the library very soon. In the mean time, make sure you enter Free Book Friday this week for your chance to win 2 of Anne’s books. They’re special copies too because Anne has very kindly signed them.

  6. 13

    Ella said,

    Oh my gosh, that sounds amazing! I’ll definitely enter this week! Thanks Zac! 🙂


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

