Summertime Reading Club Challenge – Week 1

This is the first of our weekly Summertime Reading Club challenges.  Each week we’ll set you a challenge and you have to comment on the challenge post to go in the draw for the weekly prize, a $50 PaperPlus voucher and a Hoyts movie pass.  We’ll draw the winner on Thursday and announce the winner on Friday when the next challenge is posted.

Week 1 Challenge

Using either the library catalogue or the Kids Christmas page on the library website, find a Christmas book that we have in the library.  Once you’ve found it, tell us here on the blog by leaving a comment on this post (along with your name and email address).

For a bonus entry – say ‘Merry Christmas’ to us in another language.

This week’s winner is Ben.

See below for terms and conditions  

  • To enter this competition you must be between 8 and 13 years old and live in Canterbury. We may ask for proof of your address and your age.
  • If you are a winner, you consent to your name, photograph, entry and/or interview being used for reasonable publicity purposes by Christchurch City Libraries.
  • Staff of Christchurch City Libraries and their immediate families are not able to enter.
  • The competition ends on Thursday 27 December at 6pm.
  • We will notify the winners by telephone and/or email on Friday 28 December 2012.
  • The Christchurch Kids Blog judges decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  • Prizes are as stated and are not transferable.

9 Responses so far

  1. 1

    Tierney said,

    Hi,

    I found a Christmas book on the catalogue! I don’t know if I’m meant to say the title or not, so I will just in case I do have to: it’s Horrid Henry’s Christmas by Francesca Simon. My 9 year old sister loves these books!

    At Tuam library I listened to some Maori Christmas carollers, I’m quite sure that Merry Christmas in Maori is:

    Meri Kirihimete.

    Thanks!

  2. 3

    A Christmas Carol

    Feliz Navidad,
    Josiah Morgan

  3. 4

    Ella said,

    Merry Christmas in German, is: Frohe Weihnachten

    The Christmas book I found in the catalogue and is one of my favourite Christmas books is: A Small Miracle by Peter Collington.

    Thanks! 🙂

  4. 5

    Ella said,

    Hey, Zac, am I to old for this? I’m 13.

  5. 6

    Bailey said,

    My Christmas book is “One Starry Night” by Lauren Thompson.

    Joyeux Noel! That’s French for Merry Christmas!

  6. 7

    Ella said,

    You can also spell and say Merry Christmas in German as “Froehliche Weihnachten!” There are lots of ways to say it!

  7. 8

    Robin McGregor said,

    Merry Christmas in Chinese is 聖誕節快樂! I read a Christmas book the two Christmas Mice by Corinne Demas. The story is good!

  8. 9

    Ben said,

    My Christmas book is, “Baboushka”

    Mele Kelikimaka! That’s Merry Christmas in Hawaiian!


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

