Summertime Reading Club Challenge – Week 3

This is the third of our weekly Summertime Reading Club challenges.  Each week we’ll set you a challenge and you have to comment on the challenge post to go in the draw for the weekly prize, a $50 PaperPlus voucher and a Hoyts movie pass.  We’ll draw the winner on Thursday and announce the winner on Friday when the next challenge is posted.

Congratulations to last week’s winner – Robin.

Week 3 Challenge

Leave a comment telling us:

 

Which book character would you want as your best friend?

Make sure you leave your name and email address as well so that we can contact you if you win.

See below for terms and conditions 

  • To enter this competition you must be between 8 and 13 years old and live in Canterbury. We may ask for proof of your address and your age.
  • If you are a winner, you consent to your name, photograph, entry and/or interview being used for reasonable publicity purposes by Christchurch City Libraries.
  • Staff of Christchurch City Libraries and their immediate families are not able to enter.
  • The competition ends on Thursday 10 January 2013 at 6pm.
  • We will notify the winners by telephone and/or email on Friday 11 January 2013.
  • The Christchurch Kids Blog judges decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  • Prizes are as stated and are not transferable.

23 Responses so far

  1. 1

    Ella said,

    If I could choose a book character as my best friend, it would definitely be Jacky Faber, from the Bloody Jack series, which is probably one of my favourite series EVER!

    Jacky is full of humour and wit and has a good heart, altogether, she would make a excellent best friend.

    I really wish she was real, not fiction!

  2. 2

    Ben said,

    If I could choose a book character to be my best friend, it would most likely to be Roger, from the Willard Price adventures.

    I really like Roger, he makes me laugh and he knows lots about animals, which is really cool. I think Roger would make really nice best friend!

  3. 3

    Bailey said,

    I would want my best friend to be Flossie from Candyfloss by Jacqueline Wilson. It’s my favourite Jacqueline Wilson book- I’ve read it twice! Together we would sew clothes for our toys.

  4. 4

    Ella said,

    I forgot to say, that the Bloody Jack series is by L. A. Meyer.

  5. 5

    Tierney said,

    I would be best friends with Ruby from End of the Alphabet- she’s an awesome character! She would be able to help me pick out awesome outfits and we could make posters together! Also, I would help her with her reading and writing so she didn’t fall behind at school. Ruby Yarrow would be a great best friend!

  6. 6

    Ewen Wong said,

    If I could have a best friend that is a book character I would choose Harry Potter from the series written by J.K Rowling because he is persistent and he is brave and bold.

    Harry is humourous and intelligent too making a wonderful best friend!

  7. 7

    Justine said,

    I would like to be friends with Hermione Granger from Harry Potter because she is smart, brave and a loyal friend.

  8. 8

    The book character I would most like to meet is Andy Dusfresne, from the Stephen King novella Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption because of his persistence and awesome sense of humour.

  9. 9

    zackids said,

    I’m loving reading all of your answers! It’s really cool to see so many different characters mentioned.

    My pick would be Meggie from Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart (my favourite book) because she has a special power and she is incredibly brave. I would like to explore the Ink World with her.

  10. 10

    Robin said,

    I would like to be best friends with Bilbo Baggins from The Hobbit because smart and brave.

  11. 11

    Romy said,

    Why must you make me choose?
    Well, if I have to…I’d have to be best friends with none other than Sherlock Holmes, one of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s genius creations. I mean, it’s not every day that you solve crimes and have Sherlock Holmes as your friend! Plus, you could pick up a few skills of deduction from him.
    His theories would constantly astonish me, and who doesn’t like a good murder?
    So, to be the Watson to the Holmes would be my favored choice.

  12. 12

    Tessa said,

    I would choose Zelda from Once and Then. The author is Morris Gleitzman and both the main characters are amazingly gutsy. Zelda is an orphan and trying to escape the Nazis. She also has to deal with her Dad being one of them. She is very young but has a mind of her own and has to be incredibly brave. She doesn’t give up and I like her smart comments “Don’t you know anything?” I think she would be a cool friend.

  13. 13

    Sarah Powley said,

    I would choose George (Georgina) from The Famous Five by Enid Blyton because although she hot-tempered she is loyal, truthful and always ready for an adventure.
    I also would really like a dog like Timothy.
    I think she would make a good friend if you got on the right side of her.
    I love reading about her adventures with her three cousins and Tim!

  14. 14

    Phoebe Laird said,

    I would choose Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series because she is brave, loyal and very clever. I loved her dress at the Yule Ball.
    i love these series and have read them all – I am a Harry Potter fan!

  15. 15

    Harriet Fraser said,

    For my best friend I would choose Anne Frank.

    She had an amazing story and she is such a strong, talented and imaginative girl. She was brave and didn’t focus too much on the war and kept her head up high. And this is what would make an interesting best friend to me.

  16. 17

    Stephanie said,

    For my best friend I would definitely choose Auggie from ‘wonder’ written by RJ Palacio.

    Born with a facial defect. August has to survive a life of people starring and whispering behind his back. All he wants is to be normal, he thinks he’s normal why does everyone else judge him just by his face.

    August is a neat and funny kid who never stops believing he is an inspiration to everyone around him and that’s why he would be my best friend.

  17. 18

    Amelia said,

    I would definately choose Anne from the famous five books by Enid Blyton.
    She is a very timid Girly-Girl with 2 older brothers and one cousin who wants to be a boy.They go on heaps of adventures and even though she is scared she dosen’t give up like most people would .
    Anne is a kind and caring smart girl and she does not give up no matter how much her brothers call her a timid little mouse.That’s why she would be the best friend ever.

  18. 19

    Harriet C-M said,

    I’m having a hard time choosing between Annabeth Chase (Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus), and Beatrice “Tris” Prior (Divergent trilogy). But I have to say I prefer Annabeth a little more.

    Annabeth is a demigod child of Athena making her intelligent, a good weaver and a great warrior. She is a brave girl and never backs down. She plans to be an architect, and designs new buildings for the destruction of Olympus. Annabeth has a fatal flaw like all demigods, Annabeth has Hubris, or deadly pride meaning that she believes she could redesign the world and get her parents back together. I think that ,despite her flaw, Annabeth would make a great best friend!

  19. 20

    I would choose Geronimo Stilton to be my best friend. I like him because he is adventurous. He solves heaps of mysteries. He gets to travel to lots of interesting places like Venice and Paris. Lucky Geronimo Stilton.

  20. 21

    LUKE said,

    I would choose Greg to be my friend. Greg is from Diary of a wimpy kid. I like him because he not like a normal kid. He always gets bullied by his brother Rodrick and hates his family but one day he will be rich and famous. The book is written by Jeff Kinney.

  21. 22

    Luka said,

    The book character I would most like as a friend is Queen Luxa from the Gregor the Overlander series by Suzanne Collins, because even though she might seem arrogant and bossy at first, once you get to know her, she is much nicer than you think. She is funny and nice and I would also like to ride a giant bat!

  22. 23

    Saoirse Hill-Shearman said,

    Annabeth Chase from the Percy Jackson. 🙂


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

