Testing, testing…

ImageHello! I’m not supposed to be here yet, but since I’m not very good with computers, I thought I’d better get in some practice first. My name is Lee Murray and I’ve been invited to be your Star Author for next month, New Zealand Book Month, which is very exciting. New Zealand Book Month is a special month-long party held every year in March. In involves all sorts of  events intended to promote books and reading, and especially to encourage people to read New Zealand books by New Zealand writers. I think that’s a terrific idea. I’m going to make it my goal to read four books by New Zealand authors before the end of March. Maybe you could do the same?  I’d love to hear about New Zealand books that you’ve enjoyed, or not enjoyed and the reasons why. Here are some great kiwi titles to get you started:

The Drover’s Quest by Susan Brocker

The Peco Incident by Des Hunt

Skye and the Lost Relic by Correne Walmsley

X-Rated by Gun Caundle (it’s okay, this book is NOT actually x-rated)

The Tooth Fairy’s Mistake by Linda Dawley

Dragons Away by K.D. Berry

Looking forward to joining you in a few days time…

10 Responses so far

  1. 1

    starauthor said,

    Hey Lee,
    I was February’s star author – nice to hand over to you and I’m looking forward to reading your work when I’m back in NZ in July.
    Enjoy
    Vince.

    • 2

      starauthor said,

      Hi Vince,
      I’ve enjoyed reading your posts. I think yours is going to be a tough act to follow.
      Lee

  2. 3

    Tierney said,

    Hi Lee,

    I have read the Peco Incident and The Drover’s Quest and I love them! I’m looking forward to having you as Star Author.

    Vince, thanks for being the Star Author for February. I really liked your posts!

    Tierney.

    • 4

      starauthor said,

      Wow, you must be quite a reader, Tierney. Susan Brocker and Des Hunt are great writers. I love their stories. Des’ novel Crown Park (Oceanbooks) is finally being released as a print book later this month. It’s the story of a band of animals threatened by the eruption of Lake Taupo 1,800 years ago and who are helped by some humans living in our time. If you ask your librarian, they’ll be able to tell you when copies will be available for loan.
      Lee

  3. 5

    Ella said,

    Hiya Lee!

    I’m really looking forward to having you as March Star Author!
    I know a little bit about you, do you remember last year (September, I think), when Beaulah interviewed you, then put the interview on her blog?
    Anyway I read the interview, and it was interesting to know a bit about you life as a Writer and your tips and interests!
    Looking forward to hearing more from you in March!

    Vince — thanks for being February Star Author! I enjoyed hearing about your books and tips for writing! I’ve put hold on your ‘Scrap’ books from the library, so hoping to read them soon!

    Ima no tokoro sayonara (Goodbye for now),

    ~Ella.

    • 6

      starauthor said,

      Hi Ella,
      Yes, I remember you. You’re a writer yourself, aren’t you, Ella? I was very lucky and won a science fiction magazine for my post on Beaulah Pragg’s blog, which was a special bonus. Apart from a few guest posts, I’m new to blogging, so I’m looking forward to my month as Star Author.
      Lee

      • 7

        Ella said,

        Yes I am a writer. And a very big reader 😀
        I LOVE historical, am very fond of mysteries and have a thirst for adventure novels.
        How about you? What’s your favourite genre to read?

        ~Ella.

  4. 8

    starauthor said,

    Ella, I’ll be honest: I love to read so much that I don’t have a favourite genre. Give me a good story, no matter what the genre and I’ll snuggle up and read it (although I tend not to read too much horror in case it gives me nightmares!)

    So tell me: do you like to write the same genres as you read? Lee

  5. 9

    Ella said,

    Well, normally I write modern fiction, as I can just sit down and write it with out having to worry to much if I’ve set it in the wrong setting.
    I write some historical, but I find it a little more difficult, because I have to make sure it’s in the right time line, the names aren’t to modern, and the language is correct for that time period. (I normally do that in my first or second draft.)

    I also like to write about different cultures, I normally write about them in my poetry.

    I like to write poems better then short stories.

    I have never tried writing a mystery, and I don’t think I ever will, but that might change 😀

  6. 10

    starauthor said,

    It sounds as if you’re a bit like me, Ella. You write what resonates at the time – the story you feel compelled to write. And yes historical fiction involves a lot of research to ensure your story elements fit the time period. No good having your medieval hero check his watch before swinging through the castle window! Lee


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

