A perfect weekend to write

Phew the end of another crazy busy week at school and the weekend is in front of me. What to do? With the weather having put a ‘Spring into Winter’ I feel a bit of a walk coming up. It is great to have some of the Port Hill tracks reopening after their post-earthquake repairs so I may head to the hills.

My little orange car is very dusty and needs a wash but when I know it’s just going to get covered in dust again the next time I head out it hardly seems worth it.

The most exciting thing about the weekend for me is that I will make sure I have some writing time. I have a story that I’ve been leaving to settle. Over the last week a couple of new directions have been fizzing away in my mind. I’m excited to be getting back to it to find out where things might head if I change a single character’s experience.

Tierney asked me what I like most about writing ( thanks Tierney) and the answer is very simple. I love the discovery! I write to find out what’s going to happen next. I find it very easy to get started from a jumble of ideas that I’ll have been mulling over but once I start to write the story very much takes off as if it has a mind of its own.

When I was writing Nest of Lies I had an ending in mind for Ika, he was a character I really loved, but as I was writing the balloon scene it dawned on me what Ika had in mind for himself. I sobbed my way through writing it because it was all happening for me in real time. More often I laugh out loud in surprise at what characters do or the way plot lines will twist or merge. I love it when I discover why I’d written something earlier that had seemed random at the time. Sometimes I stand up and stretch and realize I’ve been lost in the story for hours. That’s an experience that psychologists call ‘flow’. It’s one of the best feelings you can have.

My writing studio is at the top of a spiral staircase (isn’t that such a lovely notion) and when things have been going well I skip and slide down with a sense of satisfaction. I write first and foremost for myself. I’ve been lucky that other people have like my writing enough to make it into books. It’s a very selfish pursuit.

More later

Heather

