The All Important How Question and What question

I am often asked, ‘How did I become a writer?’ Just last week I was asked this question as I went into a remote school to teach poetry.

I looked at the boy who asked me and asked him in turn, ‘how old are you?’  Luckily he replied with the age I was looking for.  He said , ’eight’.

‘Well that’s the age I can remember thinking that’s what I really really want to be when I grow up, to be an author,’ I replied.

But I didn’t add that though I’d never meet an author, or knew anything about the journey to becoming an author; I still knew in my heart that was what I had to be.   I also loved reading.  Reading all sorts of books is a great start to becoming an author.

I didn’t know that at the time, but already I was embarking on my writer’s journey.

So that leads to another question, ‘what books did you like to read as a child?’

Well I’m not sure if you have ever heard of this very old book called ‘The Princess and Curdie’ by a famous author called George Macdonald.  He wrote this book many years ago, in fact it was very old when I was a child!!!

I loved it.  The thrill of a fabulous, loving and altogether magical grandmother, a princess alone and under threat by  dreadful goblins and a poor ordinary miner’s son called Curdie.  Wow!  I was hooked and today that book still has pride of place on my bookshelves.

So here’s a question for you?  What book has stirred your imagination, has transported you to another world, one that you’d keep through all your growing years and into adulthood?  I’d love to hear.

Next time I’ll show you a little bit of how I work ; my secret writing books and even share a way for you to start your own writing book.

Lorraine Marwood

Image

