“What do you do all day?”

ImageIt’s fantastic to be invited to be the Star Author for November. I don’t get to blog much, so this will be a fun excuse to talk about some of the things going on in my brain… ummm … actually, that’s a bit like trying to pull some coherent strands out of a bird nest.

So where to start?

I had two books come out on the same day last month – “Dashing Dog” and “The Weather Machine” – and whenever I have a new book released, that’s when I get a sudden rush of emails or phone calls from people all over the country who want me to illustrate their book. This would be great if it were a call from one of my favourite authors like Neil Gaiman, Charlie Higgson, Kyle Mewburn or Brian Falkner (among others …), but, more often than not, it’s a call from someone who has never written a children’s book before, and they usually say something like “I’ve written a book and you can illustrate it for me.” – wow lucky me! I get this comment so often, so there is obviously some misapprehension that I am sitting about all day waiting for people to give me things to do.

So then … what DO I do all day long?

Kids often ask me “do you get to draw pictures all day long?” and yep – as a full time author and illustrator that’s pretty much true. It can very very hard work even torturous at times, but the kind of torturous work that’s enjoyable – ha ha. Books are such long term projects, which means that I’m locked into them for months, even years, in advance. At any time of year I am usually working on several books at once (at the moment I am working on five). I am concepting and writing two. I’m am doing research and roughs for another two, and I am doing final illustrations as well as working on design and layup for yet another. This staggered way of working keeps me going all year round and I’m always working on books at different stages of completion. A normal picture book can take between six months to a year to complete, and in between I also illustrate little jobs like covers and one off stories for school journals.

It can be a pretty intense job and I often get sucked into the world of the book I am working on. I often have to remind myself to take a break. I have a lovely studio with my guitar and piano nearby so I usually get up and play for a few minutes (if I remember) – then crack the whip and back to it (deadlines wait for no man). For the last few months I have been working on a comic novel and I have to complete two pages every day. If I don’t then it will completely screw up my schedule – like I said, all this drawing fun can be pretty hard work.

Image

MY STUDIO THIS LOVELY MORNING

Most nights I take my work home with me too, but it’s not as bad as it sounds. Luckily I have the ability to be able to chat and talk while I’m drawing and I usually like to be surrounded by a bit of noise and conversation while I’m working. I also talk with my family about what I’m doing and sometimes we come up with cool ideas for books over dinner or while we’re driving somewhere. My kids are also really good models for my illustrations (I don’t know what I’ll do when they get too big to model as children). Everyone in my family has been trained up really well to give me good honest feedback. They are all really well-read and have strong opinions about books (and movies and music too). It’s really useful to have them all to help me get perspective on my work and tell me if it isn’t up to scratch.

I do most of my writing freehand in bed at night. I usually work out things completely in my head (while I am drawing all day) and at the end of the day I can just sit down let the writing ideas flow (of course there is ALWAYS a lot of editing to do with any form of writing). During the year I get offered manuscripts from publishers. It’s always exciting to see that simple text for the first time and imagine what you could do with it. It’s also really exciting to have a chance to work on something I’d never think of on my own (like “Dinosaur Rescue” with Kyle Mewburn and “Northwood” with Brian Falkner). On the other hand, I also spend a lot of time writing new books. That’s the only way I can get to draw or write about things that nobody else will offer me (like “Faithfully Mozart” or “The Weather Machine”). During some parts of the year I am doing a lot of writing and concept drawings for those future projects. These projects can take many years to finally be finished (usually because I’m too busy with so many other projects). At the moment I have around seven projects either with publishers or in the process of getting down on paper from picture books to illustrated novels and short stories to a large sophisticated picture book for adults. You can see that I really like to do lots of different formats and genres. All these projects are at different stages of completion, so they’ll all hopefully come to fruition over successive years (depending on whether publishers like them or not), and I’m either going to have nothing to do, or I’m going to be totally flat out!

So, in short, there’s never enough hours in the week to do all the books I want to work on. I’m very strict about having my weekends off though. So it’s lucky that I adore writing and illustrating children’s books, because it’s what I’d be doing anyway.

Over the next month I’m hoping to talk about what I try to do when I’m illustrating a manuscript, my inspiration, the comic novel I am currently working on and how I got to be an author and illustrator in the first place. I don’t really have anything specific planned – so leave a comment if there’s anything you’d like to know and I’ll do my best to answer it.

