Have You Heard Of Booktrack?

booktrackMy month of guest blogging is almost over (sniff), but I’ve got one last thing to ask you before I go. Have you heard of Booktrack?

Booktrack is a site that lets you read books, or write stories – with sound added.

They’ve got a great selection of stories you can read for free, and while you’re reading, you can also hear what’s going on in the story. If the main character opens a door, you might hear the creeak of rusty hinges. Or if they eat soup, you might hear them slurping!

If you’re a writer, you can add your own story to the Booktrack library. It takes a lot of work to add all the sounds in, but it’s quite fun. I decided to give it a go, and I’ve just published my first Booktrack! It’s called ‘Atticus Genie’ and it’s a novel about… you guessed it, a genie. You can read it by clicking here.

I have to admit, it’s taking me longer than I expected to add the sounds. If you’re going to add your own Booktrack story, I suggest you start with a shorter story than I did!

Also while you’re checking out Booktrack, make sure you read ‘The Ghosts Of Young Nick’s Head’. It’s a novel by suesSue Copsy, who’s a talented New Zealand writer and a Booktrack star author.

Here’s the description of ‘The Ghosts Of Young Nick’s Head’:

“A summer holiday at a lonely old house on a cliff top turns sinister for friends Joe and Eddie, when Joe discovers a message scratched on a bedpost, and senses a presence watching him. What is the secret of the haunted room? What is the shadowy presence lurking out on the cliffs? And who, or what, is trying to stop the boys from finding out? A spooky New Zealand adventure story for children aged 8 and up. Read it at night … if you dare.”

Sound good, right? I really enjoyed it and I’m sure you will too. The spooky soundtrack adds to a cool spooky story, and makes it a lot of fun. Look it up on Booktrack now!

– Tania

PS. Thanks for having me in April! I really enjoyed talking to you all, and hope you’ll visit me at my website occasionally. See ya then!

2 Responses so far

  1. 1

    Charlie parker said,

    It could be about a haunted house by an ocean and some people go there and get lost and then stuck for ever.

  2. 2

    Bailee Atkinson said,

    I would’t like to be then.That’s definitely not a holiday.


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

