Star author for June – Victoria M. Azaro

Hola! I am Victoria M. Azaro and I am so happy to be the Star Author blogging this month!

I am supposed to talk about my books, my writing and my illustrating….hmmm…where do I start?

I guess I can say that I am a writer that writes about things that have happened to me, or to my friends or to my children. I also have this need to laugh every day. At least a minimum of 20 times a day. I would also add that I really need to feel very strongly about something to write about it.

Image

Last month I launched “Super Saffron”, which is the fourth book in the “Saffron” series. It’s a compilation of the three previous books plus a lot more new material at the back. The series has been in the market for the last 5 years so I have had a chance to talk to many children, teachers and librarians and discover exactly how they were using and enjoying the books in the classroom and at home. I found out that children were eager to learn more about Geography.

Like Saffron, children told me that they wanted to know what country was in what continent and what city belonged to what country. They also told me that they were really interested in some of the foods that Saffron ate in the stories and they all wanted to learn a bit of Spanish, just like Saffron too.

So, with all this in mind I created a section at the back of the book.

One of the pages looks a bit like this:

Image

 

When I look into what really grabbed me to write this new book, it’s very clear to me that I am passionate about children learning about other cultures, their foods, their dress, their customs and traditions through a humorous and fun approach.

We are so lucky to live in New Zealand at this time in history, where different cultures are embraced and celebrated. I have a son that is at Intermediate School and in his classroom alone there are at least 14 different nationalities. It’s not always easy to accommodate and celebrate customs and traditions that are foreign to us but the more we learn about them and the more we discover about them, the more tolerant and open minded we will be.

Sometimes little Saffron is not as open minded as I would like her to be. Have a look at this:

Image

Throughout June I will be sharing with you different little adventures that my character Saffron has had to overcome in different parts of the world. I hope you enjoy reading them as much as I enjoyed writing them!

Chau

Victoria M. Azaro

