Get set for super (duper) perigee moon!

Guess what? This year, there will be not one, not two, but three perigee supermoons. The first happened in April. The next is due early morning Monday 11 August, and the third will happen in November.

Which begs the question, what is a perigee moon, and why on earth did I end up with one in my book about Tilly Angelica, The Night of the Perigee Moon?

A perigee moon is when the moon is at its closest point to us here on earth. A supermoon is when the full moon and perigee happen together. Because it’s so close, and it’s the full moon, it looks amazing. Big, golden and HUGE. You can read more about supermoons here.

And a perigee moon ended up in my book because I happened to go stand on my back doorstep one night and saw one staring back at me. I was so taken with it that it ended up in my story.

That’s how I find my stories come together. I settle on a central idea, and then all sorts of other funny everyday events and happenings end up bossing their way in too.

When I started writing my book, I had no idea that a supermoon would end up being central to the story. That’s one of the things I love about writing – it’s an unfolding surprise, with moons, stars and all sorts of other enchantments wrapped up in it.

Now, go check out that moon!

5 Responses so far

  1. 1

    Argus said,

    Down here in Southland if the weather’s clear enough I’ll bimble out during the night and see if I can get some shots. Thanks for the info—I had no idea~!

  2. 4

    I learned a new word. Perigee Moon.

  3. 5

    Cláudia da Silva Tomazi said,

    Hello Juliet Jacka my name is Cláudia I too like’s moom . Here in Brasil this fenomenous ” superlua ” bigmoom .

    Yeh … have rain fire in the night ( metheor efect ) .


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.

