Get writing, with a little help from your friends

My first blog post was about daring to start writing. My second – about how I get inspired (and giant moons). Number three was the top three questions I get asked about writing.

And my last one? This post is about carrying on writing, even when it gets hard. And asking for help.

I’m working on my sixth edit of my fifth story at the moment. Yes, you heard me right – the sixth edit!

This story is 60,000 words long, and I’ve read every one of those 60,000 words over and over, tinkered and played with them, rearranged them, changed them … then started the whole process all over again. Six times in a row.

And it’s still not quite ready to send to a publisher. Before I do that, I’ll ask two clever friends who love words as much as I do to read my story too. They’ll notice things I don’t, and give me advice about ways I can tweak my book to make it even better. Plus they’ll spot the odd word that’s spelled wrong or any words I’ve put in the wrong order too.

So, if you’ve got the writing itch, hitch up your determination, find some clever friends to go on the journey with you, and get writing. It’s worth it – I promise!

Bye for now,

Juliet

