Posts tagged Storylines Free Family Day

Come to the Storylines Free Family Day

This Sunday (11 August), from 10am-3pm at South Library, you can come along to the Christchurch Storylines Free Family Day.  It’s your chance to meet your literary heroes – authors, illustrators, storytellers and book characters and it’s absolutely FREE!

This year you can meet:

As well as meeting some of our best authors and illustrators you can get your face painted and have a go at some of the fun activities, including create your own menu, draw a friendly monster and perform your very own poem.

See you there!

Comments off

What!? It’s the 31st already?

Yikes – I can’t believe the end of July has arrived so quickly. There are loads more things I wanted to say but July has turned out to be a lot busier than I anticipated. I am hard at work on rewriting a novel which I am hoping will be published next year. It is a big project and has taken me longer than I first expected. Sometimes stories come out almost perfect first time but sometimes they are like a sculpture inside a block of stone and it takes many hours of chipping and chiselling and sanding before the beautiful figure lying beneath can be revealed. Sometimes when you can see the shape of the body you think you are done but there are still many hours of work ahead to make it smooth and shiny. I am also a university student at Canterbury University (by long distance study) studying children’s literature so I can better understand books as a reader as well as a writer. So just like many of you I get to do homework as well (luckily this year some of my homework means I have to read The Hunger Games).

But I am also getting ready for the Storylines Festival which will be happening in August. I am involved in a number of activities, giving a workshop in Auckland on the 25th and appearing at the Auckland family day on August 26th. But this year I get to do something very special (and which I am VERY excited about) – I get to come down to Christchurch and will be at the Christchurch Storylines Family Day at Catholic Cathedral College on August 19th from 10am till 3pm. I am part of a nationwide organisation for NZ children’s writers and illustrators, Kiwiwrite4kidz and will be at the Family Day on their behalf. If you would like to come and meet me and say hello I will be there all day. I would love to talk books and writing with you and answer any questions you might have. I am looking forward to meeting you there 🙂

Comments (2) »

Watch out for T-Wreck-Asaurus!

Do you like Dinosaurs?  Do you like to be grossed-out by all sorts of disgusting things?  If you answered yes to both of these questions then I’ve got the perfect book for you – T-Wreck-Asaurus, the first book in the hilarious new Dinosaur Rescue series by Kyle Mewburn and Donovan Bixley.

Arg is a caveboy with a really big brain.  He doesn’t really fit in with the rest of his tribe who are really, really stupid.  Arg doesn’t know why he was born with a bigger brain than anybody else, and sometimes it can be quite lonely being this smart.  Thankfully, he has his pet microceratops, Krrk-Krrk to keep him company and join him on his adventures.  When an angry T-rex starts destroying his village it’s up to Arg to come up with a plan to stop him.

T-Wreck-Asaurus is a gross, hilarious book and it’s perfect for fans of Andy Griffiths, Captain Underpants, and anyone who likes stories with dinosaur farts and Brontosaurus poo.  The story and the illustrations had me laughing out loud.  There are lots of little added extras throughout the book, including notes about Arg’s clothing, interesting facts about Brontosaurus poo and a diagram of Arg’s family cave.  You may want to hold your nose as you read, because the stench from these dinosaurs is deadly!  Look out for book two in the series, Stego-Snottysaurus.

Recommended for 7+    10 out of 10

Come along to the Storylines Family Day in Christchurch to meet the creators of Dinosaur Rescue, Kyle Mewburn and Donovan Bixley.  Make sure you also check out the T-Wreck-Asaurus book trailer too.

Comments (5) »

Dinosaur Rescue: Stego-Snottysaurus book trailer

Dinosaur Rescue is a hilarious new series by Kyle Mewburn and Donovan Bixley.  The first two books, T-Wreck-Asaurus and Stego-Snotty-Saurus are out now and you can reserve your copy at the library.  Kyle and Donovan are officially launching the series at the Christchurch Storylines Free Family Day on Sunday 21 August so make sure you come along and meet them and get your book signed.

We are giving away 5 sets of the first two books right here on the blog soon so watch this space.

Comments off

Join the fun at the 2011 Storylines Free Family Day

The Storylines Free Family Days are held every year throughout New Zealand to celebrate the amazing, extremely talented authors and illustrators that we have in our country.  This year the Christchurch Free Family Day is being held at Cobham Intermediate School, 294 Ilam Road, Burnside on Sunday 21 August, from 10am-3pm.   It’s a chance for you to meet some fantastic New Zealand authors and illustrators, including:

And some very special guests…

You could get your favourite author’s autograph, listen to them talk about their books and read some of them, or enter the Storylines competition.  It’s totally FREE, so come along with your family and join the fun.  Go to the Storylines website to view the programme or grab one from your library.

Comments (2) »

Win Dinosaur Rescue books by Kyle Mewburn and Donvan Bixley

The Storylines Free Family Day in Christchurch on Sunday 21 August is only 1 week away.  There are lots of amazing author and illustrators coming, including the very cool, Kyle Mewburn and Donovan Bixley.  Kyle and Donovan have created a hilarious and disgusting new series called Dinosaur Rescue.  You can read our review of the series and watch the disgusting book trailer here on the blog.  To celebrate the release of the first two books in the series and their appearance at the Christchurch Storylines Family Day, we have 5 sets of the first two books to give away, which include:

To go into the draw to win one of these books, all you have to do is answer this question – What is your favourite dinosaur and why? Add a comment on this post with your answer, your name, and email address (so we can contact you if you win).  Entries close Friday 19 August at 5pm.

See below for terms and conditions     Read the rest of this entry »

Comments (3) »

Win Zac Power and Phoenix Files books

The Storylines Free Family Day in Christchurch on Sunday 21 August is only 2 weeks away.  There are lots of amazing author and illustrators coming, including the author of the Zac Power series and Phoenix Files series, Chris Morphew.  Thanks to Hardie Grant Egmont we are giving away two of Chris Morphew’s books:

To go into the draw to win one of these books, all you have to do is answer this question – What gadget would you use to help you save the world?  It could be one of Zac Power’s gadgets or any gadget that you can think of.  Add a comment on this post with your answer, your name, email address (so we can contact you if you win) and the title of the book that you would like to win.  Entries close Friday 12 August at 5pm.

See below for terms and conditions  Read the rest of this entry »

Comments (9) »

%d bloggers like this: