Hi from your July Star Author

Hi there folks (waves). I am feeling very honoured to be this month’s Star Author here at the Christchurch Kids Blog. I’m going to be around all July talking about books, reading and writing. If you have any questions at all about me, about writing or about my books please ask.  I write for children of all ages, from picture books through short stories to novels. I love to write even though it can be brain twistingly difficult at times, but I also love to read and I think one of the reasons I became a writer was because of how reading books made me feel.

Reading a book is something I can do by myself but I never feel alone when I read. I can travel anywhere, meet new people from different countries, cultures or worlds and learn more about myself doing it. Some of my favourite books when I was younger include The Outsiders, The Little House on the Prairie Books, The Dark is Rising series, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe books, The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings (I think I read that at least 12 times), Paddington Bear Books, Famous Five and Secret Seven Books, The Wizard of Earthsea, Trixie Belden, Nancy Drew, The Hardy Boys, Anne of Green Gables, Flambards, The Swing in the Summerhouse,  and many, many more. I loved I Had Trouble in Getting to Solla Sellew, The Cat in the Hat, and Where The Wild Things Are. I adored Fairy Tales and Nursery Rhymes. As you can see I liked books that blended magic with the real world. I still own many of my favourite books from my childhood. And I still read children’s books now. Recent favourites include Super Finn, Hill and Hole, The Hunger Games, White Cat, The Double Life of Cassiel RoadnightThe Chicken Thief, Olivia, There’s a Monster at the End of this Book, Love That Dog and The Changeover. What are some of your favourite books? And what is it you loved most about them?

3 Responses so far

  1. 1

    Tierney Reardon said,

    Hi,

    I am an enormous book fan, as are my sister. My favourite books are Skulduggery Pleasant, Harry Potter, the Lord of the Rings, Anne of Green Gables, The Hunger Games, Gregor the Overlander and anything to do with World War II. I like funny books, vivid scenes, and believable characters.

  2. 2

    Tierney Reardon said,

    Hi again,

    When I say “as are my sister” I meant “as are my sisters!” I am very picky about correct grammar and would never write “as are my sister,” on purpose!

  3. 3

    starauthor said,

    Hi Tierney, I totally agree, humour, vivid scenes and believable characters make books great. I’m also really interested in World War II and the book I’m working on at the moment is set during this era.

    cheers
    Melinda


Comment RSS

Comments are closed.